infOpinions? Redesign :: I’m Playing. Be Afraid.

Danger, Will Robinson. If you are not interested in style & design, this post isn’t for you. I link below to most of the new themes for WordPress that I really find to be quite attractive as well as very well constructed. You will find photoblog themes, one administration area theme and many colorful and whitespace optimized blog themes.

…style & design
beauty with functionality is always the goal
remember, whitespace is your friend…

Hey, if you like looking at pretty designs, this post has links for you. So, if you are game – read on….

I have been wanting to redesign this blog, and several others I have going, for some time. During the holidays I’ll be playing with different ideas. Do you have any suggestions for some new WordPress themes that have been released recently?

Some of my favorites so far are:

K2 at Binary Bonsai is yet another truly nice theme from the creator of the famed Kubrick theme, Michael Heilemann, and Chris J Davis for WordPress. Kubrick is now the default theme for WordPress, for instance. But K2 goes much further. A one-column theme. Very pretty and getting lots of buzz online. It is still beta and seems destined for WordPress 2.0, but works with 1.5.2. Still, a pretty theme. Simple, clean and easy on the eyes.

All of the themes based upon the work of Andreas Viklund are just beautiful, to me. So, the following themes are especially nice:

WPAndreas03 v1.0: Somewhat similar to “Think Different” (you’ll see that one in a minute). This is a clean and pretty whitespace theme.

Kaushal Sheth’s WordPress Themes are very beautiful and quite clean, too. They share similar characteristics with work by Andreas, above. Or, vice versa. Don’t know if they’ve ever actually seen each other’s work.

And, there are many more great new themes, too.
Impact: A clean and modest business looking theme. Simple, but quite nice.
triSexuality: An interesting name. This is a ‘very’ colorful and clean them with three-columns. Very stylish.
Eclectic Theme for WordPress: Orange. Very sleek and pretty. A ‘different’ kind of design.
Kiwi: Great look, but I swear I can’t read it.
Phoenix Theme: Very clean and nice. But, a bit dark. However, that can easily be changed with the background color.
Think Different: A very “Mac” looking theme. Clean and lotso whitespace.

And, for something totally different, there is SpotMilk. Now that is actually a theme specifically aimed at the admin area of your blog. Great work.

How about a specific WordPress photoblog theme? Try Tan. This is really nice. Beautiful, in fact. Very clean and well done. This one should win prizes. Lots of prizes. And, the designer – Taly (Spanish) – has more Fotolog Themes to choose from, too.

I so hope that WordPress 2.0 will be released during the holidays. There has been a little scuttlebutt that it will, but we’ll have to see. I’ve already installed that a few times with the beta and two release candidates. It is looking sooooo good. WordPress has all of the other platforms beat – hands down. There will no longer be any question with 2.0. (Update: Just found that release candidate #3 is out. Get it here.)

I have already installed and slightly alterd the Exquisite theme. You can see it in action on this blog with this link. The theme is based upon the Andreas03 theme. The images will likely change, but I like the very “whitespace” look of the theme. Simple to read and so easy to navigate. It is a fixed-width theme. Some people don’t like those, but I do.

Update: Also found some very nice and well crafted themes from The English Guy – Richard Dows. Of particular interest are the News Print and Spick and Span themes. Can’t wait for those to be available for download. He’s doing some very nice work, so check it out.

0 thoughts on “infOpinions? Redesign :: I’m Playing. Be Afraid.

  1. Michael Wales

    Thanks for the mention of my theme, WPAndreas03 – I agree, Andreas’ work is absolutely superb. I like the other themes you linked to as well, definitely giving me some ideas for my next.

    You said you have began work on porting a theme over to WP 2.0, what are the biggest changes in doing so? I have yet to install WP 2.0 on a test server to see what’s different within it – I guess I should get started on that this afternoon, huh? πŸ˜€

  2. Robert

    Hey Michael, thanks for dropping by. Nice theme.

    Andreas is great, isn’t he? I like all the themes he has at oswd.org, too.

    As for the 2.0 theme, actually porting would be too kind a word. So far, all of the themes (just a few) I’ve tried work in 2.0. So, it may be that many existing themes will still work. The one I was referring to as being destined for 2.0 is K2. Since it is in beta, I guess Michael Heilemann and Chris J Davis will have it ready for people to use once 2.0 is released.

    All the best. Happy holidays!

  3. Robert

    You are welcome, Taly. I really like the clean and simple style to those fotoblog themes. And, I’m sure they were ‘not’ simple to create. When something looks so effortless, despite knowing all the work that went in to it for you, that makes the appreciation for the design – and the effort – even greater. The color choices are great, too. Thank you for sharing them with the WordPress users out here. We appreciate the hard work and generosity.

    All the best.

  4. Neville

    Excellent post, Robert. Food for my eyes as I to-and-fro with deciding on the theme of my new WordPress blog that will soon be my new home.

    I’m currently with K2 b1 r125, lightly customized. But you’ve now given me some great pointers for some other ideas.

    Thanks!

  5. Robert

    Thanks, Neville.

    Your blog looks great. I’ve been checking back – actually going there rather than just reading your feed – to see how it is looking.

    For me, going through and looking at themes is fun. It is finding the time to implement them all that is sometimes frustrating. πŸ™‚

    All the best for your pending switch to the new home with WordPress.

  6. Robin D. Stavisky

    Dear Robert,
    This comment is long overdue as I have enjoyed your site for some time now and have been aware of your students visiting my site. I wanted to tell you how delighted I am to be picked up in your net and how worthwhile I feel what you are doing.

    I am such a fervent believer in the impact of the Internet on our profession and so few PR professionals, let alone professors seem to really understand it. Hats off to what you are doing and to those students lucky enough to have you. All the best, Robin Stavisky, http://newventuremarketing.typepad.com/

  7. Robert

    Thank you, Robin. Wow. πŸ™‚ What a nice comment. I appreciate you coming by and especially appreciate you interacting with my students.

    We will have a whole new batch of them (75 or so, I think) taking on blogging in the coming semester, so I am sure you will have more visitors.

    All the best. Have a great new year!

  8. Robert

    Looks great! I know how you feel, in your sidebar. “I’m constantly tinkering with this.. I know. Sooner or later I’ll come up with a design and stick with it.” I feel the same way. πŸ˜€

    I’ve tried it on some test blogs with the Rotate Random Images plugin/script from Matt Mullenweg.

    All the best, David. Hope all is well with you. Happy New Year!

  9. Robert

    Thanks, Paull. And, I will get them all up and available at PRblogs.org as soon as I can. Darn server problems right now, but we’ll get them up there.

    Take care and Happy New Year!

  10. the english guy

    Hi, Robert!

    Thanks for the mention in your post, and for your comments in my blog threads. The News Print theme should be available soon, Spick and Span is being replaced by another one.

    Hope you have a great New Year!

  11. Robert

    Thanks, Richard. I will look forward to the release of both themes. And, for that matter, any others you post. I like your work. πŸ™‚

    Happy New Year to you and yours, too. All the best.

  12. Robert

    My pleasure, Kaushal. I appreciate your work and the effort that goes into it. And, thanks for sharing your themes with the community.

    Happy New Year to you and your family, too!