Student blogs up and running…

Tonight we fixed all (but one, Sara’s) of the Style & Design blogs and they are up and running. I’ve thought it over and I’m taking the blame for the faux pauxs in the blog setups. I don’t think I explained it as well this time around as I did last semester. So, the fault’s mine, students. You should not feel bad about the goofs at all. Robert Bad! Students Good! 😉

The Foundations of PR (Intro to PR) class blog is already off and running with their Armstrong Williams, Ketchum, DoE, et.al., blogging critiques/analysis. Check them out. Very happy with their first solo posts. Very happy, indeed.

Tuesday, in Style & Design, we will put new templates/styles on the blogs. And, we’ll be making MP3 questions to send to Neville Hobson and Shel Holtz for their ‘For Immediate Release‘ podcast. That should be interesting. Let’s see if they go with any of them.

4 thoughts on “Student blogs up and running…

  1. Pingback: the Free Voice » What’s in a name?

  2. Paul Woodhouse

    I’m really rather impressed with what your students have managed so far, Robert. I’m particularly impressed how many of them seem to have developed an immediate voice. I suppose it’s the folly of youth, or something.

    There are obviously a few questions that I have burning, but I don’t think it would be fair to ask them here.

    Being a qualified CELTA tutor myself, I’m considering adapting the teaching methodology I acquired to setting up some form of business blogging type class for the uninitiated.

    You’re obviously proof positive that you’ve taught them something right.

    Good work – give yourself a gold star!

  3. Robert

    Thank you, Paul. I appreciate the gold star. Thanks. 🙂

    I agree about the students. It is great to see them form really definite arguments/thoughts right off the first post/comment.

    Adapting the CELTA method to a blog seems like a terrific idea. Taking those wholly unfamiliar with a ‘language’ … the blogosphere’s languages — writing style and technology considerations — is a terrific idea. Cool!

    Feel free to jump in at the student blogs any time. I’ve already talked to them about you. 🙂 They are assigned the listening experience for your podcast with Shel and Neville this weekend.

    Take care and thanks again!

Comments are closed.