They’re out of the gates! New student PR/Marcom bloggers.

Yes, the students are blogging again. πŸ˜‰ The semester has started and my students are getting into the blog ‘thang’ again.

Tonight, I released the seniors on you and we started taking the steps to get their blogs up and running. mySQL databases will take about a week to be returned to them from IT. (Yes, we do some things the slow way, here. But, that’s ok.) Then, they will install and configure their own WordPress blogs. Until then, they are joining our wonderful contributors at MarcomBlog.com and a few other sites.

For instance, they are undertaking a ‘case studies’ project at PRCaseStudies.com, a new CivicSpace blog/wiki/forum site I’ve set up for them. You might enjoy this one. Just wait until they finish their assignments: identifying all PR firm case study links and creating a catalog of sorts from those links. (My little way of getting them to read more case studies.) 😯

Tomorrow, the ‘Intro to PR’ sophomores/juniors will be off and blogging. They have a group blog, so their accounts will be active tomorrow night.

I’ll be pointing them to blogrolls of PR bloggers, too. So, be ready. πŸ™‚

You’ll find links to all their blogs here.

This is, of course, another opportunity for me to invite any interested PR/Marcom professionals/educators to join us in this blogging journey. Accounts are available for you at MarcomBlog.com and/or PRCaseStudies.com. Comment here or email me if you’re interested! [Swap @ for (at) to email.]

Thanks.

3 thoughts on “They’re out of the gates! New student PR/Marcom bloggers.

  1. Pingback: the Free Voice » Warning: This area is under construction.

  2. Matt Collins

    Nice to hear the next set of bloggers is about to get cranking, I’m still trying to keep mine going from last semester.

    A couple of questions:
    (1) How do I go about getting a gmail link icon like you have?
    (2) You mentioned scripts you used in place of something like sitemeter to track hits to your site, and I’m interested in setting something like that up for either my blog or maybe even my online resume; where should I start on something like that?
    (3) (I know, I only said a couple) Is it worth the effort to upgrade from the WordPress 1.2 to 1.2.2?

  3. Robert

    Hey Matt,

    Great to hear from you. I’m so glad you’re going to continue blogging. Please keep in touch.

    As for the gmail png logo, I cannot find the site that generates them, but did find this ‘psd’ file that you can use Photoshop to personalize Visit this forum link.

    For your WordPress blog, there is this plugin that I know you can install. It is pretty easy to set up and has good documentation. Visit stattraq for the files and instructions.

    Another great tracking site (free) is here at Reinvigorate. Sign up and place the link in your ‘template’ using the WordPress admin edit tool. With this one you can easily track who has looked and where they came from.

    As for 1.2.2, I guess it is worth it. It isn’t hard. Just make sure to download (backup) all of your files before uploading the new ones. Also, if you’ve modified any specific files, go through the files in the upgrade and move them out of the folder before doing the upload. Then, do those special files one at a time to assure you don’t mess up any special features you’ve installed.

    Let me know if you have any questions. Take care.

    Robert

Comments are closed.