Jeremy Pepper :: FWIW – “We got your back.”

No one asked me to write this. I’ll probably get in trouble for doing so. It may seem overboard to some. My plans for ‘end of the semester’ review and kudos has been pushed forward a bit by recent events.

Among those events, I notice that Jeremy Pepper has had a little brouhaha going on at the Pop-PR! blog. I have not had the time to write to Jeremy about the whole thing. Also, I thought I’d post this first (so he doesn’t ask me not to do it). ๐Ÿ˜‰

I did not get to read the post by Jeremy Pepper about publicists vs. PR practitioners (Lizzie Grubman and Peter Shankman).

When PR goes bad …
by Jeremy
There have always been discussions about the differences between public relations and publicists. Some people are in public relations, but call themselves publicists because they see that as more glamorous, while other PR professionals tend to wince when called publicists. But, either way, both PR p…


Jeremy pulled the post. I trust Jeremy’s judgement. I also do not have any problem with Jeremy (or anyone) rethinking a published blog item and either (a) editing it or (b) pulling it. The blog is yours to do with as you see fit. I look forward to his re-posting of the item, should he decide to do so.

For the little I see of the post, I have written similar thoughts in my blog, too. See Lizzie Grubman – PR poster child? anathema (curse)?. I, too, revised my comments after discussing Lizzie Grubman with one of my students. She interned with Grubman. The student, Margaret, is someone I respect, too. She is a hard worker and very bright. Her insights into the ‘PoweR Girls’ culture was balanced and reasoned. I listened and was influenced by my student. I learned from her.

Jeremy is not afraid of learning. I respect and appreciate that trait in him.

Jeremy’s Pop-PR! is one of the first blogs I found while researching our little blog excursion for classes this semester. From the outset, Jeremy’s writing and insights struck me as fresh, sound and respected. I cannot remember how many people I have seen write something like, “Jeremy gets it.” I have held him up to my students as a stellar example of both a blogger and PR practitioner.

Jeremy is unafraid. That trait is not easily developed. It comes naturally for some and never exhibits itself for others. Further, Jeremy is grounded in reality. His range of knowledge in the field of public relations is impressive. If I needed a PR firm. I would hire Jeremy in a heartbeat.

One little project I’ve been quietly pursuing is to check the blogrolls and link lists of (what I consider to be) the best PR bloggers online today. Jeremy is ‘linked’ by the best (and by most, I think) PR bloggers. I do not see Lizzie and Peter on those lists. OK, they don’t have blogs, but I do not see any of these PR/Marcom/Communication pros citing either for ‘best practices’ – do you?

Update: OK, Peter does blog. He posts cute pictures in a moblog group to show how ‘cute an insider’ he is. Want a real laugh? Look at his website over the years. All about ‘how cool he is’ … a shameless self-promoter if ever there was one. See The Wayback Machine for his site since 1998. Hasn’t changed a bit, really. Lame Silly then. Lame Silly today. A celebrity stalker looking to glam off their fame. He is not a PR practitioner. He was/is? a promoter and most of that seems to be aimed at himself.

Take it from Shankman’s own words:

“I’m a celebrity-sighting junkie – an excellent, awesome stalker,” admits 32-year-old Manhattan P.R. exec Peter Shankman, who’s one of about 2,000 members in a popular local moblog (a Web log of content posted from a cellphone or PDA) called “NYC Celeb Sightings.” (Source: NYPost)

I now, after seeing more info, believe that Jeremy was totally justified in his critique of Shankman. Sad that a grown man (Shankman) would make such tacky ad hominem attacks (or perhaps send out hordes of groupies) and spam Jeremy’s blog with childish nonsense. (See this post.)

That is why Jeremy’s site now has comments turned off. Jeremy is just taking the high road to make the silly nonsense stop. Again, Jeremy wins.

I still can’t stop laughing at one word: bunnies ๐Ÿ˜‰

Finally, let me tell you a little about Jeremy and what he has meant to my students.

I can not tell you (honest, I can’t – Jeremy won’t let me) how many of them he has personally helped with any number of things like: internship/job leads, critiques of their work, proofreading, editing, gentle prodding and encouragement, friendship and – well, just downright kindness.

Did anyone ask Jeremy to do any of this? No. Why did he do it? Because Jeremy Pepper is a truly great guy. Jeremy is willing to be a mentor. Jeremy seems, to me, at least, to be a natural care-giver. Now, to you, that term may seem a bit silly to use. But, I worked in rehabilitation for about 10 years. I’ve seen care-givers and trust me, Jeremy is one. They, care-givers, are rare finds and do their good deeds in various ways. The one common character trait is – they reach out. They have not forgotten from whence they came. They have not forgotten that we are all just one ‘oops!’ away from finding new work. ๐Ÿ™‚

I would be horribly remiss if I did not thank Jeremy for all of the advice and experience he has shared with me, too.

Thank you, Jeremy, for all of the kindness you have shared with all of us. We are better for the experience.

There are a lot of great role models out there for my students to watch and learn from. Two, for example, are Elizabeth Albrycht and Shel Holtz. I’ve pointed my students to their work several times – and will continue to do so. Jeremy Pepper is every bit as solid as either of them. I recommend him to my students even more, actually. Why? Because Jeremy is a PR pro that ‘gets it’ and he thinks nothing of ‘giving,’ too.

