Simplify: CivicSpace (Drupal) Configuration Wizard

Some good news from the blog of a CivicSpace developer: CivicSpace (Drupal) Configuration Wizard

Samantha Blackmon and I have been working with Zack Rosen and the CivicSpace Labs crew to develop their install configuration wizard that is based on Adrian’s work. The configuration wizard asks the user to choose from three site profiles and then walks the user through some basic site configuration questions so that the site is ready to use upon completion. The available site profiles are:

– a political action platform
– Slashdot-style community site
– a personal website or weblog

The goal is for someone to be able to complete the configuration in about 10 minutes or so. We’ve prepared storyboards outlining the profile configuration process (use the collaborative book navigational structure). Once Drupal 4.5 reaches release status, we’ll finalize the wizard and create a configuration guide similar to that with DrupalEd and DrupalBlog to provide documenation on further site tweaking.

CivicSpace is a powerful ‘advocacy’ CMS project. I really like it. It has possibilities for PR. Think of the opensource CMS that drove the “Dean for America” campaign. Very powerful. Now, the good news is – it will be easier to install. It is a bear for the non-IT geek. I can attest to that. Haven’t gotten it to run yet. I’ll keep trying – some day.

2 thoughts on “Simplify: CivicSpace (Drupal) Configuration Wizard

  1. Martha Schumann

    Hi – I am not sure if this is the right forum for me to ask you this, but I am currently a graphic design student at UAB and I am seriously considering transferring to Auburn. I was wondering if at any point I could ask you a few questions about the program there, and possibly get some insight on my options. If you get a chance, please e-mail me (mk4530@yahoo.com).

    Thank you,
    Martha

  2. Robert

    Hey Martha,

    Thanks for dropping by.

    Sure thing, I’ll write to you. We’d love to welcome a new student! 🙂

    Take care.

    Robert

Comments are closed.