Rebecca MacKinnon – Former CNN Bureau Chief (China) has a blog!

From Jeff Jarvis, we learn of a new blog … a good one! Hey, good blogs like Jarvis’ frequently link to other good blogs. 😉

Rebecca MacKinnon

One-Line Bio

A recovering TV correspondent who has joined the participatory media movement.

Biography

I was based in China and Japan for CNN from 1992 until the end of 2003. During that time I held positions ranging from “production assistant” to “producer” to “correspondent” to “bureau chief and correspondent.”

In January 2004 I went on leave to do a 1-semester fellowship with the Shorenstein Center on the Press, Politics and Public Policy at Harvard’s Kennedy School of Government. My research focus was on weblogs and participatory media, especially as they relate to and enhance international news. After about 3 months at Harvard I resigned from CNN and was invited to stick around for the 2004-05 as a Research Fellow at the Law School’s Berkman Center for Internet and Society. I am now organizing conferences, speaking, writing, and consulting on weblogs and participatory media. I’m especially interested in helping concerned citizens, nonprofits and activists use participatory media tools.

Contact: rmackinnon (AT) cyber.law.harvard.edu

