the women of wordpress #1 – nuclear moose candy

well, PR is dominated by women these days – so, you should read about the impact women are also having in the development of blogging/CMS software/scripts, too! Now, it ‘is’ a bit cheesy (uh, read that ‘sexist’). I would not have written it this way. All that being said, it does show that women are active in developing/creating the tools we’re using here – WordPress – so, for a little ‘nuclear moose’ (he thinks – tongue-in-cheek cheesy fun) and we think ‘ack’ – still, ‘MooKitty’ is worth the read, check this out:

the women of wordpress #1
by nuclear moose

… the first in a series of interviews with the Women of WordPress. This installment is with none other than that code-writing, bug-stomping whiz who goes by the name of ‘MooKitty.’ You may also know her as Kitten, or Kitty as well. Kitty has written a number of plugins, and has contributed code that has been rolled into the core of WordPress itself. I was able to convince her to take some time away from her many projects to speak with me. I hope you enjoy the interview as much as I enjoyed conducting it.

Perhaps you can comment on the story and the style in which the interview is written/conducted. See, two chances to blog about two topics. πŸ™‚ Since I am asking you to blog three times a week, I’ve just knocked out 2/3 of your ‘blogging quota’!

3 thoughts on “the women of wordpress #1 – nuclear moose candy

  1. the absent student

    I wrote about this on my livejournal a few days ago. Don’t you just love that ‘all in good fun’ argument? Anyone who dares to object (rather than being a ‘good sport’ like the unfortunate MooKitty) automatically gets labelled a humourless feminazi. I’d have liked to have seen a little more about why Kitten feels her code has to be twice as good to get recognised, and a lot less about manicures.

    It’s not the first sexist entry I’ve seen in that blog either, and it’s interesting how on both occasions it’s been mainly men who’ve picked up on it. Maybe you’re more hopeful of being listened to and not dismissed as humourless feminiazis. I don’t know.

  2. Robert

    I’ve taken down my comment on “Nuclear Moose’s” interview. (No longer available online or in cache.) I didn’t like the tone of his interview, but … what does my opinion matter, after all.

    Don’t get me wrong. I do not think The Moose was prompted to close his blog because of me. His last posts hinted at other issues. But, something in me said, “If I, in any way, contributed to his sad feelings, my point had been made. He read it… ’nuff said.”

    But, obviously he is not having a good time these days.

    The site shows a simple, “thanks for everything. (signed) nuclear moose”

    And, I don’t want to contribute to the unhappiness of a moose. So, my criticism of his interview is now off the blog. For what little, if any, it may be worth.

    Let’s be kind to someone who is obviously sad, and maybe remember The Moose for – what some called – a sweeter attempt at a post, which is cached on Google.com.

Comments are closed.